top of page
  • Foto del escritorG3R

GB DMG Power Supply IPS Mod

So I have bought a GB DMG with a faulty Power Supply and it only gives a red light every time I power on the game boy, I find one option for a replacement part on AliExpress that dont convinces me, so I decided to make my own mod for it with the parts I have in my workshop.


1. Understanding the power supply of the dmg:


found this:




2. Regulate the output to 5v constant:


The battery output from a 4x AA battery's is generally:


1,5v*4= 6V


But if you are using an AA NICd is:


1,2*4= 4.8V


With this in mind you will need two parts a boost a buck for the battery voltage to 5v for making a functional replacement for the DMG and the IPS mod so for making the cheaper and the easiest way I used a 899MH (aliexpress.com/item/32865230811.html) to boost the voltage up to 9.4v (With 2 smd resistances) and then I used a MP1584 buck 5V (aliexpress.com/item/1005003880292594.html) to get the 5v output.


3. Fixing the 899MH to get the 9.4V



* First, you will need to desolder the adj potentiometer and solder two resistances to the 899mh





4700 Smd 805 = 470 ohms

1002 Smd 1206= 10 Kohms


You can use normal resistances. The important thing is that you test if your output voltage is approximately 9.4V.


3. Conecting all.


At the end, you will have some like this on your hands:





*Remember to test the output voltage from the 899MH moded and the MP1584, 5 volts, before making the last connection (green wire in the diagram).


4. IPS mod test:





Disclaimer: I am not responsible for damaged devices, you are choosing to make these modifications; this is only a guide explaining what i do to get my DMG with the IPS ips mod working again.
113 visualizaciones0 comentarios

Entradas recientes

Ver todo
Publicar: Blog2_Post
bottom of page